Illinois Medicare Advantage Plans

Medicare Advantage Open Enrollment in Illinois

Medicare Advantage is extremely popular in Illinois—over 600,000 seniors choose Medicare Advantage for their health care coverage. As an alternative to Original Medicare, these private health insurance plans give Illinois residents cost-efficient coverage options and supplemental health benefits that seniors prefer.

If you’re ready to make the switch from Original Medicare or comparison-shop your current Medicare Advantage plan, here’s what you need to know about Medicare Advantage Open Enrollment in Illinois.

What is Illinois Medicare Advantage?

Medicare Advantage plans are private insurance plans offered by blue-chip insurers such as Aetna, Anthem, Blue Cross Blue Shield, Cigna, Humana, and UnitedHealthcare. Medicare Advantage functions more like your union or employer’s health coverage, but you don’t lose any benefits or rights under the Medicare program.

Most plans include Part D coverage for prescription drugs, so you get all your Medicare benefits in one convenient plan with one monthly premium. Many Illinois Medicare Advantage plans also include extra benefits such as coverage for routine dental and vision care, which are not available under Original Medicare.

If you live in the major metropolitan areas and counties around Chicago, as well as most other Illinois counties, you can choose between multiple Medicare Advantage plans. It’s easy to find one to meet your unique health care needs. You may even be able to enroll in a zero-premium. Illinois HMO or PPO Medicare Advantage plan.

When is Medicare Advantage Open Enrollment in Illinois?

You can enroll in a Medicare Advantage plan or switch to a new plan during the Annual Election Period each fall between October 15 and December 7. Changes to your Medicare coverage go into effect on January 1 of the following year.

If you are already an Illinois Medicare Advantage plan member, you can also make changes to your coverage during the Medicare Advantage Open Enrollment Period, which begins January 1 and ends March 31 each year.

During this time, you can switch between Medicare Advantage plans or drop Medicare Advantage altogether and return to Original Medicare. You can also sign up for Part D if you drop Medicare Advantage coverage. However, you can only change your coverage once during the Medicare Advantage Open Enrollment Period.

Which Illinois Medicare Advantage plans are available during the Open Enrollment Period?

Insurers in Illinois generally make changes to their Medicare Advantage plans at least once a year. If you’re thinking of making changes to your Medicare Advantage coverage, it’s a good idea to start comparison shopping at least a month or two before the Medicare Advantage Open Enrollment Period to see what’s available in your area.

O’Neal Insurance Group represents the top Medicare Advantage plan carriers in Illinois. We’re happy to help you find the right plan for you, no matter where you live in the state. Depending on your location, our licensed Medicare plan specialists are available to meet with you in the privacy of your own home at no cost to you, speak with you on the phone or meet with you at our office. Get in touch today to enroll in Medicare Advantage in Illinois.

Our Illinois Medicare Advantage Carriers :

  • Aetna
  • Allwell /Centene
  • Bright Health
  • Blue Cross and Blue Shield of IL,(HCSC)
  • Cigna Medicare-Healthspring
  • Clearspring Health
  • Community Care Alliance of Illinois
  • GTL (Guarantee Trust Life Insurance Company)
  • Humana
  • Mutual of Omaha
  • UnitedHealthcare
  • Wellcare

Insurance Carriers

  • Aetna
  • Allwell /Centene Ascension Complete
  • Anthem BCBS of Indiana
  • Bright Health
  • Blue Cross and Blue Shield of IL, (HCSC)
  • Blue Cross and Blue Shield of TX, (HCSC)
  • Cigna Medicare-Healthspring
  • Clearspring Health
  • Devoted Health
  • GTL (Guarantee Trust Life Insurance Company)
  • Health Alliance
  • Humana
  • Mutual of Omaha
  • UnitedHealthcare
  • Wellcare
  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Georgia
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Louisiana
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • New Mexico
  • Ohio
  • Oregon
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Wisconsin
  • Please also visit our Partner Site